Stop Niching Down

It's okay to be a little broad

You don’t have to be so niche.

An old ivy, Malbork castle walls, Poland

Hey subscribers! If you’re new here it’s nice to e-meet you. And if you say “e-meet” in emails — like I just did — watch the TikTok below.

Btw, I’ve been tinkering with the idea of rebranding my newsletter for a while now.

I’ve gotten feedback like: “Sounds like a Dad blog”, or “What’s it about?” But after giving it some thought, I actually sort of like the randomness.

If I tie my brand to one specific thing, it requires putting guardrails around who I am as a person, and what might be top of mind on that given day, or in that season of my life.

I am a dad, and an entrepreneur, and a sales leader, and a newsletter writer and operator. Many of the different parts of what make me who I am are inseparable.

Much like the photo of tree roots above, it’s hard to tell where one aspect of Daniel stops and another begins, and I sort of like that about myself. So, at least for now, I’m going to keep it that way with Fatherpreneur.

@danielcberk

please stop saying “nice to e-meet you” #worklife

It’s okay if your newsletter is a little broad.

I’m the first one to make an argument for why you should niche down for you newsletter topic. Funny enough, I DID make that argument already.

But you don’t have to niche down. I get asked this question at least once a week: What should I write about? And the real answer is: it doesn’t matter as much as you think it does. Just start writing something.

Here’s my challenge: set a timer, start writing, and stop at 10 minutes.

That’s what I did for this newsletter (actually stopped at 12 minutes but oh well). After you get into the habit of writing SOMETHING for 10 minutes a week, increase that to 20 minutes. Then 30. If a niche starts to form over that period of time, great! That’s awesome. But if not? Oh well. Keep writing. Writing it good for you, it’s therapeutic. Writing is medicine.

If for no other reason, write consistently to get something down on paper and press send. You might be surprised who starts listening.

Start a newsletter course.

Why are top creators using email courses?

Because they create demand, build trust, and convert customers. Sign up for Master the Email-Based Course and see why Dickie Bush got “Takeaways within 5 minutes of digging in. Huge value.” 

I’ve crossed paths with Dickie Bush a few times over the years, so his review of any writing course means a lot to me.

I haven’t personally gone through this email course, but a review in high-regard from Dickie is exactly the social proof I like to see before I commit time and money to a course. If he found “huge value” here, then I’m sure you will too.

Oh, and one more thing.

I set a timer for writing this newsletter just like I suggested.

Here’s where I stopped the timer before making some final touches and publishing.

Until next time,

Daniel

P.S. One last thing. My boss Tyler Denk just started a newsletter of his own, and goes deep into the inner workings of beehiiv as a startup. It’s currently one of the only newsletters I will 100% read entirely every time it hits my inbox. Subscribe here. (This tiny little paragraph is sponsored but I am telling the truth).

Join the conversation

or to participate.