Start a Newsletter in 5 Minutes

PLUS: The Daily Mustache

Hello to 1,480 newsletter creators!

This is Fatherpreneur, the newsletter about newsletters that's written by a dad with a mustache who's been writing newsletters for 10 years.

How to Launch a Newsletter in 5 Minutes

Last night I was at dinner with 15 of my colleagues and I had a crazy idea.

I’m going to launch a newsletter about a sentient mustache named Mustache, and he is going to have his own daily newsletter.

5 minutes later I had a domain name, website, landing page, blog post, logo, and my first 5 subscribers (all people at my table 😆).

Here’s how I did it:

  1. Named the newsletter (easy) — The Daily Mustache (actually my idea was Mustachpreneur but Tyler Denk came up with this alternative and it stuck).

  2. Take a selfie of my mustache, open a square canvas on Canva, paste my mustache, and add my title in block lettering.

  3. Start a beehiiv publication.

  4. Teach ChatGPT that it is now a sentient mustache newsletter writer. Ask ChatGPT to confirm its understanding.

  5. Tell ChatGPT to introduce itself to the world in a 500-word blog post.

  6. Send email to newsletter + blog post.

  7. Post newsletter to Twitter.

Total time: 5 minutes

Total subscribers: 13

If you want to start a newsletter and don’t know where to start— my advice: stop thinking so hard and just ship something.

If you don’t hate v1 of your product then you waited too long to ship.

Btw… You can go subscribe to The Daily Mustache now by clicking my mustache below. 👇

Newsletter question of the week:

How should I start getting newsletter sponsors for my newsletter?

I want to hear from you. Please reply to this email with your answer and I’ll share the best ones in next week’s newsletter!

Btw… If you have over 1,000 subscribers on beehiiv you can start placing ads with beehiiv‘s ad network.

Newsletter Growth Community

The newsletter growth community is now open to everybody!

Jump on over to our Telegram group chat, where over 230 newsletter creators are growing together. Introduce yourself, and begin to network with other newsletter operators.

Content Break - Fatherpreneur

That’s it for today. Thanks so much for reading.

  1. For daily newsletter tweets and insights, follow me @danielcberk on Twitter.

  2. Get your brand in front of 1,400+ newsletter creators by sponsoring Fatherpreneur.

What did you think of today's post?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.