Just Be Yourself

Creating content gets easier when you lose the smoke and mirrors.

This is Fatherpreneur.

The newsletter that's written by a dad with a mustache who's been creating content for 10 years.

In less than 5 minutes, you'll learn quick and actionable tips for how to create content that doesn't suck.

Tip 1: Just Be You

I love comedy, so fused into my posts on Twitter, LinkedIn, TikTok – and everywhere else I hang out – are satire. Sometimes it's in the form of a meme, sometimes in barely distinguishable self-deprecation.

Here it was in the form of posting that Musk's Twitter Blue would succeed if it turned into LinkedIn.

The best part about this post are the replies that followed. I didn't explicitly call my idea "LinkedIn" (although I was obviously describing LinkedIn), and I trolled everyone who responded that I was describing LinkedIn.

Playing dumb is a really quick way to get a few laughs and show people you don't take yourself too seriously.

Creating content that feels genuine and *you* becomes a lot easier when you stop thinking so hard about it and just start writing whatever you would say in real life.

Here's another example of me just being me. On LinkedIn, Sarah Brazier posted "Discipline is doing things you don't wanna do when you don't wanna do them." In classic moron, I responded with this:

Yes, there's a fine balance.

If all you ever do it joke around and be a moron, then when you actually want to make a statement or say something serious or of value, no one will listen. Classic "Boy who cried wolf" problem.

That's where networking comes into play. The best content creators have the deepest networks.

Learn more about building a deep network by subscribing to Fatherpreneur.

2022 has been a wild year.

In early 2022, I left a super stable job in fintech marketing to go solo and build a fractional marketing business.

Across all my clients, I filled fractional and full-time roles as a Marketing Lead, Director of Growth Marketing, Community Lead, Advisor, and more.

Not only have I learned at a pace unlike anything I've experienced before in my career, but it's also become clearer to me than ever that across nearly every discipline, creating engaging, digestible, and unique content is what sets apart people who blend in and those who stand out.

LinkedIn Changes the Game

In August of this year, I started to double-down on LinkedIn. I had a few "viral" moments in the past, but I didn't post consistently, and usually didn't show my real personality.

I've been creating content for 10 years.

  1. Blogs (I've written hundreds of blogs in various industries, and in different languages!)

  2. Podcasts. I've been behind the mic and have written the scripts.

  3. Social Media. I've written and produced social for brands in tech, manufacturing, and web3 across LinkedIn, Twitter, Instagram, and more.

  4. Newsletters. Newsletters are my bread and butter. I've launched and scaled newsletters for companies, and now it's time to do it for myself. (I use beehiiv because it's the undisputed best newsletter software available).

  5. Memes. Creating memes the right way is like learning a new language. The best memes are the ones you post at just the right time.

Here's one I threw at Elon Musk.

Beyond creating content, I've been consuming content on every platform (personally and professionally) to learn what does and doesn't work, and how to implement concrete strategies.

I'm thrilled you've chosen to follow my journey. I do genuinely believe that if you continue to read Fatherpreneur, you will learn how to create content that people actually like.

What did you think of today's post?

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

Join the conversation

or to participate.